Emotional strength

It wasn’t until I surrounded myself with others who have the same weakness as me, that I realised how strong I am.

It sounds like a paradoxical contradiction.

When I sat in my group therapy class and just listened to other people tell theirs stories, share their struggles, I realised I was in the same boat as them.

These were veterans in the fight against codependency, soon I’d be like them. Perhaps sooner than I thought!

I decided there and then I needed to end the things in my life that were dragging me down, I had to put in place boundaries that would protect my own core, my own identity.

You know what, after I laid my heart before God and asked for courage, strength and healing, I woke up for the first time in a long time, empowered, full of joy and strength.

I knew what I had to do to look after myself in strength and I followed it up.

It’s about realising my life has become unmanageable because of how much of myself I gave away in caring for others needs above my own. I was at risk of losing myself!

I reeled myself in just in time and today I feel good, strong and empowered.

I no longer need to cater to the needs of others at the expense of my own wellbeing. I can choose to place boundaries to my internal person to protect my mind, emotions and wellbeing.

It’s only when I started to look inwards that I found strength and realised it really didn’t matter what others thought of me.

If someone wants to be in my life, they’ll make an effort at friendship. All those who just take can go.

I will choose to protect and cultivate my own life with Jesus as a priority and then give to those he has placed in proximity around me.

How beautiful it is to realise I can love myself.

I am powerless to love, control and even help other people and their situations. In chasing after those things, my life becomes unmanageable and I lose energy for the things that really matter!

Leave a Reply

